Aarhus University Seal / Aarhus Universitets segl

BaltHealth organisation

The Bonus BaltHealth project was closed April 2020

  • Publications, however still coming.

BALTHEALTH was led and managed by the project coordinator (PC), Rune Dietz, and the Science Steering Group (SSG), comprising of researchers from each participating institute. Together they had the responsibility to organize, coordinate and maintain the BALTHEALTH program efficiently and ensure timely completion of deliverables.

 

 


BALTHEALTH institutions and members

The BALTHEALTH consortium comprised 11 principal participants and 5 international partners, representing 4 Baltic countries. All involved scientists are leading specialists in their respective fields. The consortium combines expertise in ecology, toxicology, veterinary science, biogeochemistry, genetics, and quantitative biology, broadly covering the entire food web, and is therefore uniquely positioned to address the selected key- and sub-themes of the project.  


 

Aarhus University (AU)

Denmark

Rune Dietz (PC), Bioscience Department, rdi@bios.au.dk 

Areas of interest: ecotoxicology, spatiotemporal trends, satellite telemetry 

Christian Sonne (SSG), Bioscience Department, cs@bios.au.dk

Areas of interest: veterinary science, health and biomarkers, ecotoxicology

Igor Eulaers (SSG), Bioscience Department, ie@bios.au.dk 

Areas of interest: ecotoxicology, food web dynamics, biogeochemical tracers, analytical  chemistry

Maria Kristina Holst Palner, Bioscience Department, mariapalner@bios.au.dk

Areas of interest: General marine biology, outreach, communication and project management 

Jean-Pierre Desforges, Bioscience Department, jpd@bios.au.dk

Areas of interest: immunotoxicology, health and biomarkers, ecological modeling 

Jakob Strand, Bioscience Department, jak@bios.au.dk

Areas of interest: microplastics, ecotoxicology, marine ecology

Anders Galatius, Bioscience Department, agj@bios.au.dk

Areas of interest: marine mammal ecology, physiology, genetics

Rossana Bossi, Environmental Science Department, rbo@envs.au.dk 

Area of interest: analytical chemistry, legacy and emerging contaminants

Katrin Vorkamp, Environmental Science Department, kvo@envs.au.dk 

Area of interest: analytical chemistry, legacy and emerging contaminants  

The University of Veterinary Medicine, Hannover (TIHO)

Germany

Ursula Siebert (SSG), Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife  Research, Ursula.Siebert@tiho-hannover.de 

Areas of interest: veterinary science, health and biomarkers, infectious diseases,  ecotoxicology

Iben Stokholm, Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research, Iben.Stokholm@tiho-hannover.de 

Areas of interest:Genetics, infectious diseases and evolution    

Britte Schmidt

Britta Schmidt, Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research, Büsum, Britta.Schmidt@tiho-hannover.de.

Areas of interest: Reproduction biology, population dynamics, health and conservation    

Stephanie Groß, Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research, stephanie.gross@tiho-hannover.de    

Jan Lakemeyer, Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research, jan.helge.carl.lakemeyer@tiho-hannover.de  

Kristina Lehnert, Institute for Terrestrial and Aquatic Wildlife Research, kristina.lehnert@tiho-hannover.de  

Maritimas AB (MAB)

Sweden

Tero HärkönenTero.Harkonen@nrm.se 

Areas of interest: satellite telemetry, marine mammal ecology, population dynamics    

University of Copenhagen (UC)

Denmark

Morten Tange Olsen (SSG), Evolutionary Genomics Section, morten.olsen@snm.ku.dk 

Areas of interest: marine mammal molecular ecology, evolution and diseases 

Tom Gilbert,  Evolutionary Genomics Section, tgilbert@snm.ku.dk 

Areas of interest: meta-genomics, population genetics, ancient DNA

Stockholm University (SU)

Sweden

Cynthia de Wit (SSG), Department of Environmental Science and Analytical Chemistry, Cynthia.deWit@aces.su.se 

Areas of Interest: analytical chemistry, legacy and emerging contaminants

University of Gothenburg (UG)

Sweden

Karin Harding, Department of Biological and Environmental  Sciences, karin.harding@bioenv.gu.se 

Areas of interest: ecological modeling, marine mammal ecology, infectious diseases

Willian Silva, Department of Biological and Environmental  Sciences, willian.silva@evobiolab.com 

Areas of interest: Developing and understanding mathematical models of biological processes in general and testing those models using empirical data.

University of Turku (UTU)

Finland

Veijo Jormalainen (SSG), Department of Biology, veijor@utu.fi 

Areas of interest: marine ecology, food web dynamics, plant-herbivore interactions 

Toni Laaksonen, Department of Biology, tokrla@utu.fi

Areas of interest: animal behaviour, trophic interactions, conservation biology

Eva Rothäusler, Department of Biology, evanro@utu.fi 

Areas of interest: ecology and physiology of macroalgae    

Riika Vainio, Department of Biology, rikavai@utu.fi  

Areas of interest: Anthropogenic contamination of the environments and its consequences to species     

Umeå University (UMU)

Sweden

Peter Haglund (SSG), Department of Chemistry, peter.haglund@umu.se 

Areas of interest: analytical chemistry, legacy and emerging contaminants

Swedish museum of Natural History (SMNH)

Sweden

Anna Roos (SSG), Department of Environmental Research and Monitoring,  anna.roos@nrm.se 

Areas of interest: ecotoxicology, spatiotemporal trends, health and biomarkers,  biomonitoring

Julia  Carlström, Department of Environmental Research and Monitoring,  Julia.Carlstrom@nrm.se 

Areas of interest: marine mammal conservation ecology

Sara Persson, Department of Environmental Research and Monitoring,  Sara.Persson@nrm.se 

Areas of interest: veterinary science, ecotoxicology

Natural Resources Institute Finland (LUKE)

Finland

Kaarina Kauhala (SSG), kaarina.kauhala@luke.fi 

Areas of interest: biomonitoring, foodweb dynamics, ecological modeling, marine mammal ecology

Umweltbundesamt (UBA)

Germany

Jan Koschorreck (SSG), Federal Environmental Agency - Berlin, jan.koschorreck@uba.de

Areas of interest: ecotoxicology, biomonitoring

Gabriele Treu, Federal Environmental Agency - Berlin, Gabriele.Treu@uba.de 

Areas of interest: ecotoxicology, biomonitoring