Aarhus University Seal

You need to see this

  • Pushing the boundaries of scientific visualization
  • Symposium Venue: The Royal Danish Academy of Sciences and Letters

Symposium on Scientific Visualization - 25-26 September, 2012

Scientific visualizations are essential for the processes involved in generating and presenting scientific data. A glance at the most influential scientific journals today immediately shows how fundamentally important scientific visualizations are. Traditionally, art and illustration have played a key role in making scientific graphics. The field of data visualization has vastly grown with computer science, animation and graphic software, advanced art techniques, and information design. New technologies give us far more sophisticated tools to handle graphic design and data analysis.

The symposium explores how connections between art, design and science inspire and advance research, innovation and working processes in scientific data visualization. Speakers will share ideas for and processes of their work in visualization across disciplines. Talks and discussions will address how visual ideas and intentions are transformed by the use of different tools and technologies, how to meet the challenges of cross-discipline collaborations, how to gain and apply inspiration through multidisciplinary processes, and how these processes can enrich both the practice of science and art. The goal of the symposium is to establish best practices for the community to create, perceive and understand visualizations.


  • David Goodsell The Scripps Research Institute
  • Colin Ware Data Visualization Research Lab, University of New Hampshire
  • Alessia Giardino Thread Count Lab
  • Nik Spencer Nature
  • Kelly Krause Nature
  • Amanda Cox New York Times
  • Victoria Vesna Art Sci Center, UCLA
  • Gaël McGill Digizyme & Harvard Medical School
  • Poul Nissen PUMPKIN, Aarhus University
  • Søren Brunak Department of Systems Biology, Technical University of Denmark
  • Bang Wong Broad Institute of MIT & Harvard
  • Ebbe Sloth Andersen Interdisciplinary Nanoscience Center, Aarhus University
  • Mette Høst Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen