



AUSBI Symposium 2024

Structural biology and biophysics from the sub-molecular to cellular scale and larger

Wednesday 1st May 2024 from 8:30-18:30

Venue:

Aarhus Institute of Advanced Studies (AIAS) Høegh-Guldbergs Gade 6B 8000 Aarhus

Scientific programme: AIAS Auditorium (1632-201) Refreshments and posters: AIAS Hall (1631-101)

PI lunch meeting: AIAS meeting room (1630-301 – on the 3rd floor in 1630)

Programme

08:30	Coffee and registration (AIAS Hall). Please put all posters up in the AIAS Hall
09:05	Welcome by organising committee (AIAS Auditorium)
09:15	Poul Nissen (Faculty of Natural Sciences and MBG): Opening remarks

SESSION I

Chair: Poul Nissen

09:30	Kira Gysel (MBG): Structural basis of chitin perception in plants
09:50	Anastasiia Sadetskaia (iNANO-Chem): <i>Mysteries of bone: spatial distribution of Zn and changes in surrounding matrix around cement lines and lacunar-canalicular network mapped by synchrotron-radiation experiments</i>
10:10	Emil Laust Kristoffersen (MBG-iNANO): 2'-fluoro modified RNA nanodevices for sensing, catalysis, and protein binding
10:40	Coffee break (AIAS Hall)

SESSION II

Chair: Anna Duncan

11.10	Thibault Viennet (Chem-iNANO): <i>Mechanistic importance of disordered tails in enzyme regulation by phosphorylation</i>
11:30	Malthe Kjær Bendtsen, Andreas Møllebjerg, and Samuel Peña Díaz (iNANO-MBG): Towards a sustainable plastic culture: developing and applying polyurethane-degrading enzymes
11:50	Ali Shahrokhtash (iNANO-Phys): "Nanopatterned DNA force sensors for studies of immune cell activation"

12:10	Lynette Nel (MBG): Conformational changes in the Niemann-Pick Type C1 protein NCR1 drive sterol translocation
12:30	Group photo in the auditorium
12.35	Lunch and networking (AIAS Hall) or PI lunch meeting (1630-301 – on the 3 rd floor in 1630)
13:00	Poster session and networking (with prepared 2 min presentations)

SESSION III

Chair: Ditlev E. Brodersen		
	14:00	Kristian Juul-Madsen (Biomedicine): Amyloid-6 aggregates activate peripheral monocytes in mild cognitive impairment
	14:20	Mads Justesen (iNANO-MBG): <i>Structural and spectroscopic investigations of cable bacteria</i>
	14:40	Akriti Mishra (Chem): <i>Probing the structure of human alpha synuclein on nanoplastics surface</i>
	15:00	Klara Scholtissek (MBG): Structural and functional characterization of the human lipid flippase ATP10A
	15:20	Coffee break (AIAS Hall)

SESSION IV

Chair: Duncan Sutherland	
15:40	Pablo Alcon (incoming MBG): <i>FANCD2-FANCI is a sliding clamp that recognizes ss-dsDNA junctions</i>
16:00	Frederik Henriksen (MBG): Biophysical exploration of complex regulatory mechanism of bacterial toxin-antitoxin systems
16:20	Laura Teodori (iNANO-MBG): <i>DNA origami-mediated transfer of nanoscale molecular patterns</i>

SESSION V

Chair: Thomas Boesen		
16:40	Gregers Rom Andersen (MBG): HALRIC program and how to obtain funding	
16:50	Jesper Karlsen and Rune Kidmose (Faculty of Natural Sciences and MBG): <i>Electron microscopy and protein design computing cluster</i>	
17:05	Line Mørkholt Lund (iNANO-Chem): <i>Conformation dynamics of DNA unfolding by helicase and imaging by single-molecule fluorescence</i>	
17:20	Poster prize announcement	

Future outlook and discussion